We acknowledge that the UBC Vancouver campus is situated on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam).

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Dr. Anne Gadermann and Dr. Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes named as new Canada Research Chairs

Jun 22, 2021 |



Two faculty members at UBC’s School of Population and Public Health (SPPH) have been appointed as new Canada Research Chairs (CRC) in the latest round of appointments.


The CRC Program is designed to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds at Canadian institutions. Dr. Anne Gadermann, Assistant Professor, has been appointed as Tier 2 CRC in Bio-Eco-Social Determinants of Child and Youth Mental Health, and Dr. Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes has been appointed as Tier 1 CRC in Person-Centered Care in Addiction and Public Health.


SPPH is proud of the world-class research being conducted by its faculty. Drs. Gadermann and Oviedo-Joekes’ work continues to improve the health and well-being of individuals, and their mentorship of graduate students and future health leaders is an invaluable resource to the School’s community.


The Canadian Foundation for Innovation (CFI), a partner of the CRC program, has awarded a combined total of $700,384 in John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) Funding to six new UBC Canada Research Chairs, including Drs. Gadermann and Oviedo-Joekes.


Read more about the appointments from UBC Research.