We acknowledge that the UBC Vancouver campus is situated on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam).

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

UBC researchers receive D2L Award for innovation in teaching

May 24, 2024 |

Rock the Boat 2nd Ed: Using Theatre to Reimagine Graduate Supervision, an open-access multimedia resource project led by Dr. Susan Cox, Professor Michael Lee and Mx Matthew Smithdeal, was honoured with the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning by the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE).

Rock the Boat is an open-access multimedia resource designed to provoke dialogue about graduate student supervisory relationships within universities, and their impact on student and faculty wellbeing. Drawing upon the tradition of Research-based Theatre, Rock the Boat draws attention to graduate supervision as a vital form of pedagogy, and as rife with challenges — especially relating to equity, inclusion and diversity.

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L (Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary collaborative teams each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

Dr. Susan Cox is Professor and Chair of Biomedical Ethics in the Centre for Applied Ethics within the School of Population and Public Health (SPPH) at the University of British Columbia. She is also the Program Director of the PhD and MSc programs at SPPH. She has a long career in qualitative health research which is highly interdisciplinary and reflects a broad scope of topics relevant to Biomedical Ethics. She has been a leader in applying ethics to diseases such as Alzheimer’s and has used a variety of approaches in her research to include individuals with varying abilities to communicate. Further, Dr. Cox has been part of an innovative international group looking at the intersection of arts, health and ethics.

Congratulations to Dr. Cox and her colleagues on receiving the award!