We acknowledge that the UBC Vancouver campus is situated on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam).

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Warm Greetings and Happy Holidays

Nov 29, 2023 |

Dear SPPH Faculty, Staff and Students,

As we bid farewell to 2023 and eagerly anticipate the winter break, I would like to extend my heartfelt congratulations and deep appreciation to our community. This year is full of challenges and triumphs, and I am grateful to have this opportunity to reflect on the resilience and achievements that define the School of Population and Public Health.

This year, we celebrated 129 graduates of SPPH. I am so proud of all our students have accomplished and how much each one of them has overcome to reach graduation day. We know you’ll shape a better world for all of us. I would also like to express heartfelt gratitude to our dedicated faculty members. Your guidance, expertise, and unwavering support have been instrumental in shaping the success of our students.

In the same breath, we celebrated the distinguished careers and retirements of five faculty members. Simultaneously, we welcomed fresh faces – students, faculty and staff to the community. A special acknowledgement goes to our Associate Director Mieke Koehoorn, who embraced her new role as Vice-Dean, Academic Affairs in the Faculty of Medicine. We are equally delighted to welcome Rachel Murphy, Louis Masse and Craig Mitton to the SPPH leadership team.

Let’s also take a moment to applaud the achievements of our School’s faculty and staff, with several of them receiving awards for their contribution to service, teaching, mentorship and research. Congratulations to Anita Ho and Maureen Mayhew for their new publications that speak to the forefront of healthcare in the global environment. Veena Sriram was named Canada Research Chair in Global Health Policy, Jane Buxton was appointed to the Order of British Columbia, and Dr. Michael Brauer, Dr. Neeru Gupta, Dr. Bev Holmes, Dr. Deborah Money, and Dr. Craig Stephen were elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences – these are just a few examples of the exceptional accomplishments within our community. Congratulations to all for a stellar year and I can’t wait to see the amazing things we will accomplish in 2024.

As we look forward to 2024, our commitment to fostering a diverse and equitable workplace remains unwavering. This endeavor requires the collective effort of our entire community. Together, we can build a more inclusive and equitable environment that empowers all individuals to reach their full potential. Thank you for your dedication to SPPH and public health as a whole, and for being part of this transformative journey.

Wishing you and your loved ones a winter break filled with joy and warmth. See you in the New Year!

Aslam Anis  PhD, FCAHS (He, Him, His)
Professor and Director pro tem
School of Population and Public Health | Faculty of Medicine

The University of British Columbia | Vancouver Campus | Musqueam Traditional Territory
2206 East Mall | Vancouver BC | V6T 1Z3 Canada | http://www.spph.ubc.ca