We acknowledge that the UBC Vancouver campus is situated on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam).

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Tuition and Awards

Fees Canadian Citizens/Permanent Residents International (study permit)
Application Fee $151.23 $151.23
Full program fee 2 $32,050.26 $58,641.30
Tuition per instalment $5,341.71 $9,773.55
Student Fees 3 $1,052.34 (approx.) $1,052.34 (approx.)

1 As listed by UBC Graduate and Post Doctoral Studies – Master of Health Administration (MHA).

2 All costs quoted in Canadian funds and as of the current academic year. Fees, including tuition based on year of entry, are approved by the Board of Governors following consultation with students and are subject to change.

MHA graduate students pay an instalment fee per term, for a total of six (6) instalment payments regardless of the number of courses registered in one term. A Continuing Student fee is assessed after instalment six (6). The current Domestic continuing student fee is $823.50 for the current academic semester.

3 Students also pay mandatory student fees for a variety of university-provided services. See UBC fees in the Academic Calendar for more information. There is an option to opt out of medical or U Pass fees if you are already covered by medical insurance or meet the criteria for exemption.

  • All fees are payable in three instalments per year, at the beginning of September, January and May.
  • Upon accepting an offer of admission to the program, a $1,000 (non-refundable and non-transferable) acceptance deposit in Canadian currency is required. This deposit will be credited towards your tuition.
  • Program fees include tuition, textbooks and course materials for the weekends students attend classes.

Note: Students enrolled in the MHA program are not eligible for the Canada Student Loan program. However, they may be eligible for a British Columbia Health Care Scholarship FundStudents can also review the information on awards and funding on the Faculty of Graduate Studies website.

Scholarships and Awards

The program offers a few scholarships each year to recognize the achievements of our students. These awards are subject to change each year and are dependent on the generous donation of our donors.

Robert Wood Johnson award


Established by Johnson & Johnson to recognize the contributions being made by Canadian Universities in the field of Health Care. The award is on the recommendation of the School of Population & Public Health to the student deemed most likely to make a substantial contribution in the field of health care. The recipient receives a cash award and is sponsored to attend the annual National Health Leadership Conference.

Nomination and selection process

The award is given to a student in the second year of the program and has demonstrated a strong consistent academic record. Candidates will be asked to submit an essay for consideration. Evaluation by committee will consider each students’ academic record and essay.

Past recipients
2023 Jennifer Jun
2022 Nicole Didiuk
2019 Kyla Gunderson
2018 Jennifer Krempien
2017 Dr. Mike Bevilacqua
2016 Olga Sawatzky
2015 Dr. Paul Johar
2014 Julie Ho
2013 Suzanne Idle
2012 Jennifer Lyle
2011 Zahida Esmail
2010 Dr. Sally Clark
2009 Sonia Sizto
2008 Dr. Monica Beaulieu
2007 Dr. Paul Komenda
2006 Tanya McLeod
2005 Noorjean Hassam

W.J. Lyle Memorial Scholarship 

$1450 – $2500

Established as a memorial to Mr. W.J. (Bill) Lyle, former Deputy Minister of Medical and Hospital Programs. Mr. Lyle’s civil service career spanned 54 years, and he played a key role in implementing the hospital insurance system in BC. The scholarship fund was organized by the BC Health Association and BC Ministry of Health employees, and supplemented by generous contributions from the Mr. & Mrs. PA Woodward Foundation and the Government of BC.

The scholarship is awarded to a student in the Master of Health Administration Program, Faculty of Graduate Studies, who has demonstrated academic ability and is deemed likely to contribute to improve planning, organization, management or governance in the health care fields. Upon completion of all first year course requirements a student is eligible for the Lyle Scholarship if he or she has achieved a first class (80%) average in the first year “core” courses.

Past recipients
2023 Stephanie Lam
2022 Kevin Peter
2018 Joshua Koczerginski
2017 Jessica Maiorino
2016 Henry Wong
2015 Catherina Van Beek
2014 Marc Gaudet
2013 Dora Tsao
2012 Evan McMillan
2011 Grace Randhawa
2010 Steven Chasey


Lloyd F. Detwiller Prize in Health Administration

$125 – $150

Established in the memory of Mr. Lloyd F. Detwiller who was for many years administrator for the UBC Health Science centre Hospital. The award is based on academic excellence and demonstrated interest in the field of Hospital Administration. It is made available to a student in the Health Administration program on the recommendation of the School of Population & Public Health and in consultation with the faculty of Graduate Studies.

Past recipients
2023 Jaclyn Lam
2022 Kathy Sheng
2018 Anetta Stankowski
2017 Regina Tam
2016 Jennifer Powell
2015 Daniel Kwan
2014 Fatma AbdelHalim
2013 Michael Reyes
2012 Jeffrey Harris
2011 Michael Schechter
2010 Derek Martinig

R.E. McDermit Memorial Prize


This prize to recognize the late Robert E. McDermit’s commitment to excellence in health administration and his dedicated years of service in government, health care organizations, and the private sector is offered by his family. The award is made to a graduating student in the M.H.A. program for the best paper examining current issues in the planning, management, or administration of health service programs. The award is made on the recommendation of the Department of Health Care and Epidemiology in consultation with the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Past recipients
2023 Heather Gregory
2022 Mary Hein
2018 Vanessa Lewis
2017 Katie Huston
2016 Stephanie Lau
2015 Michelle Huebert
2014 Michael Reyes
2013 Bethany Saunders
2012 Tarnjit Parhar


Excellence in Health Administration


This award is presented to a student from the UBC Master of Health Administration program to encourage continued leadership in health administration.

Past recipients
2023 Jasmine Vafi
2023 Sarah Vollett
2022 Elaine Law
2022 Susan Rodger 

Malcolm T McEachern Vancouver Hospital Prize

$500 to $1,000

Awarded by the Vancouver General Hospital to honour Malcolm T McEachern to encourage leadership in health administration. As a physician, administrator and public health official, Dr. McEachern had one major goal: to provide better quality care for the patient through increased efficiency of hospital administration. The prizes are awarded to the full-time student in the Health Administration program who presents the best management project during the summer clerkship. The awards are made on the recommendation of the Department of Health Care and Epidemiology in consultation with the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Note: As of 2018, this external award has been discontinued.

Past recipients
2015 Marcus Blouw, Jonah Marek
2014 Rose Hsu, Jeremy McAllister
2013 Nathan O’Hara
2013 Meher Shergill
2012 Scott Fraser-Dauphineer
2012 Tanya Dunne